Mexican Sergio “Checo” Perez wins Saudi Arabia Formula One Grand Prix


Sergio Perez earned his first win of the 2023 Formula One season with a dominant performance at the Saudi Arabia Grand Prix.

Red Bull teammate Max Verstappen climbed into second place after starting Sunday in 15th position, staying in first place in the championship standings thanks to his fastest lap.

Fernando Alonso was at the center of musical chairs around the final podium spot after in third place, but he was initially replaced by George Russell after a penalty.

However, Aston Martin requested a review of the penalty, which resulted in it being overturned, returning Alonso to the podium:

It continues an impressive start to the year for Red Bull Racing, which finished one-two in the first race of the year two weeks ago in Bahrain.

After Verstappen cruised to a championship last year, the team is off to another strong start through two races in 2023.

Final Results

1. Sergio Perez

2. Max Verstappen

3. Fernando Alonso

4. George Russell

5. Lewis Hamilton

6. Carlos Sainz

7. Charles Leclerc

8. Esteban Ocan

9. Pierre Gasly

10. Kevin Magnussen

Verstappen has been the fastest driver for the past two years, but he had an uphill battle this week after an issue during qualifying.

The car’s driveshaft broke in the second round of qualifying and ended up in 15th, while teammate Perez grabbed the top spot just ahead of Charles Leclerc.


The Guadalajara Post