PGA Tour begins the road to Masters in Mexico


This is the first of 14 tournaments in the second season of the Saudi-funded league.

Mayakoba previously hosted a PGA Tour event since 2007. Russell Henley won in November.

El Camaleon was designed by Greg Norman, the CEO, and commissioner of LIV Golf.

Dustin Johnson won the individual and team titles last year in LIV Golf and made over $35.6 million.

Among newcomers to defect from the PGA Tour or European tour are Mito Pereira, Sebastian Munoz, Brendan Steele, Danny Lee, Dean Burmester, and Thomas Pieters.

Some of the teams have changed names for the first full year of league play.

Bubba Watson is a team leader and plays for the first time since the PGA Championship last May.

LIV Golf is starting its season in one week during a five-week stretch that the PGA Tour does not have an elevated event.

Graeme McDowell (2015) and Pat Perez (2016) are the only LIV Golf players who won the PGA Tour event at Mayakoba.

Source: PGA

The Cancun Post