Autonomous University of Nuevo León Tigres win Mexico’s LIGA MX Clausura 2023


A dramatic final at Guadalajara’s Estadio Akron as Tigres who trailed (0-2) at the break dug deep in a second half that saw Chivas sit back allowing the visitors to tie the game at 2-2.

Extra time beckoned and Tigres captain Pizarro was the hero for the side from Nuevo Leon nodding home in the 110th minute to give Tigres their eighth Liga MX title.

In the second half of 2010, it became customary to see Tigres lifting the Liga MX trophy, as they won four of eight short tournaments between the Apertura 2015 and the Clausura 2019 to fly up the all-time leaderboard of title winners.

The men from San Nicolás de los Garza had, however, been stuck on seven victories ever since, until their come-from-behind triumph in the Clausura 2023 tournament against Chivas de Guadalajara.

How many Liga MX titles have Tigres won?

Los Tigres clinched their eighth Liga MX title thanks to an extra-time victory at Estadio Akron on Sunday, with Guido Pizarro the matchwinner after they had come back from 2-0 down at halftime.

Their latest victory moves them up into joint fifth place in the all-time table alongside Club Léon and although they still have some work to do to catch the clubs at the very top, including this year’s finalists Chivas, their recent successes have established them as one of Mexico’s decorated clubs.

Source: ESTO

Monterrey Daily Post