Emergency declared in 6 municipalities of Oaxaca after Hurricane Agatha


The declaration of a state of emergency activates resources to meet the food, shelter and health needs of the communities.

Declaran emergencia en 6 municipios de Oaxaca tras huracán Agatha | ATB  Digital

The Mexican government declared this Friday an extraordinary emergency in six municipalities in the state of Oaxaca due to the passage of Hurricane Agatha, which made landfall on the coasts of that region on Monday, May 30.

The municipalities of Santa María Colotepec, Santo Domingo de Morelos, San Pedro Pochutla, Santa María Huatulco, San Miguel del Puerto and San Pedro Huamelula were declared in an emergency situation.

On that date, the National Civil Protection Coordination (CNPC) issued a Declaration of Extraordinary Emergency in that state due to the imminent impact of the meteor, with which the resources of the Program for the Attention of Emergencies due to Natural Hazards were activated.

Said agency specified that “as of this declaration, the authorities will have resources to meet the food, shelter and health needs of the affected population.”

Hurricane Agatha left around nine dead and at least five people missing, as well as various damages in the Sierra Sur and Costa regions, according to information provided by the local Civil Protection agency. 

Sube a 33 la cifra de desaparecidos por paso del huracán Agatha en México

For his part, the head of the National Defense Secretariat, General Luis Cresencio Sandoval, specified that the disappeared are reported in the municipalities of San Juan Ozolotepec and Santiago Xanica, where two and three canophile binomials have been working, respectively, since Thursday. They will add another five to find these people.

The Oaxaca Post