Progreso, Yucatán hosts the 10th Inter-American Congress of Solid Waste Management


Progreso, Yucatán (November 1, 2023).- The Mayor of Progreso, Julián Zacarías Curi, in the company of the General Director of the Comprehensive Waste Management System (SIGER), Luis Castro Rio, the Councilor of Ecology, Herbert Pech, the Director of Prolimpia, Emilio Góngora, and the Director of Public Services, Canan Góngora, had the honor of receiving prominent visitors at the Progreso transfer station. 

Progreso is being presented as an example of good government practices in environmental matters.

Mayor Julián Zacarías Curi extended a warm welcome to the distinguished visitors of the 10th Inter-American Congress of Solid Waste AIDIS (Inter-American Association of Sanitary and Environmental Engineering) and the 6th National Congress AMICA. 

Julian Zacarias said: “It is an honor for us to host such outstanding events that bring together experts and enthusiasts in the field of waste management. “We are committed to sharing our best practices and learning from your experiences to move towards a more sustainable future.”

Within this framework, the Secretariat of Sustainable Development of the State of Yucatán, in collaboration with the National Association of State Environmental Authorities (ANAAE), will organize the “Inter-American Meeting of Environmental Authorities on Waste Matters.”

The objective of this meeting is to highlight fundamental issues, such as the “Green Tax: Financial Solution Tool for Waste Management”, “Innovation and Alternatives in the Comprehensive Management of Urban Solid Waste and Special Management”, as well as “Circular Economy ”. These topics will be the focus of a dialogue aimed at providing significant perspectives in the field of waste management.

Additionally, at the transfer station, we had the honor of receiving distinguished authorities, among them the Mayor of Barrancos, Peru, Yessica Vargas Gómez, and representatives of countries that have come to share their experiences, including Peru, Ecuador, Colombia, Miami, Brazil, El Salvador and Paraguay.