These will be the 10 stations where you can board the Interoceanic Train


The first section of the Interoceanic Corridor will link the Pacific Ocean with the Gulf of Mexico, from Oaxaca to Veracruz

XALAPA, VER.- The Interoceanic Corridor of the Isthmus of Tehuantepec (CIIT) is the work of President Andrés Manuel López Obrador that seeks to connect with railways to the southeast of the country. It is projected that the train can operate to transport goods and people between the states of Veracruz, Oaxaca and Chiapas.

The one known as the Interoceanic Train will be connected in the future with the Mayan Train, according to Óscar David Lozano Aguilar, general director of the project in the Yucatan Peninsula.

“This will allow us to achieve the capacity to transport fuel, cement, steel, grains, perishables, including vehicles, among other items that will be transported through the train rail system.” Lozano Aguilar said.

Interoceanic Corridor-Mayan Train: This is how the train from Veracruz to Yucatán will connect

Isthmus Corridor

AMLO reveals the foreign country that will manage ports of the Interoceanic Corridor

The connection would then be section 1 of the Mayan Train, with section 2 of the Interoceanic, which goes from Coatzacoalcos, in Veracruz, to Palenque, Chiapas, and from there it would depart to Escárcega, in Campeche, to continue the journey to the Yucatán Peninsula.

The route that the train will have in the Interoceanic Corridor is planned to be in three sections, which are:

Section 1 or line Z: Salina Cruz (Oaxaca)-Coatzacoalcos (Veracruz)

Section 2 or FA line: Coatzacoalcos (Veracruz)-Palenque (Chiapas)

Section 3 or line K: Ixtepec (Oaxaca)- Ciudad Hidalgo (Chiapas)

In the order stated, progress has been made, with the first section being the closest to being inaugurated. On September 17, López Obrador led the first full test trip from Salina Cruz to Coatzacoalcos.

Regarding the second section, it is planned to be ready between the end of 2023 and until March 2024.

So far, the stations announced are those of the first line, or line Z, the one that goes from Salina Cruz to Coatzacoalcos. This will join the Pacific Ocean with the Gulf of Mexico through the narrowest part of the country.

The stations where the Interoceanic Train will make stops to be boarded are 10:



Jáltipan de Morelos

Medias Aguas

Jesus Carranza




Matias Romero



Salina Cruz

Source: La Silla Rota