5 presidents will attend the Summit of the Pacific Alliance in Oaxaca


This summit will take place on November 25 in the state of Oaxaca.

MEXICO.- President Andrés Manuel López Obrador stated that the Summit of the Pacific Alliance will be held in the state of Oaxaca on November 25, where it is up to the Mexican to hand over the presidency of the group to his counterpart from Peru.

In this sense, Obrador pointed out that the Peruvian Congress did not allow Pedro Castillo, president of that country, to leave at the last summit, criticizing that it is not a partisan issue, but that it is of interest to the entire Peruvian people.

“I want there to be reconciliation and that democracy be accepted in Peru, President Pedro Castillo won the democratic elections, but they won’t let him, he hasn’t been there for a long time and they have been harassing him,” criticized the Mexican, respectfully urging him to attend the Pacific Alliance.

In this sense, he also showed his interest so that the president of Ecuador, Guillermo Lasso and Rodrigo Chaves of Costa Rica, join this alliance, listing that so far the countries that make it up are Peru, Chile, Colombia and Mexico.

“This meeting is going to be in Oaxaca on November 25, the meeting of presidents, everywhere, we seek governability, because those who are always harmed by confrontations are the people, nothing happens to the elites,” he pointed.

The guest list includes: 

  • Pedro Castillo President of Peru
  • Gustavo Petro President of Colombia
  • Gabriel Boric President of Chile
  • Guillermo Lasso President of Ecuador
  • Rodrigo Chaves President of Costa Rica

In his place will be the leader of the Mexican presidency, Andrés Manuel, who will hand over the command to Pedro Castillo, who will be in charge of the decisions of the Pacific Alliance for a year.

XVI Summit of the Pacific Alliance

This January 26, 2022, the XVI Summit of the Pacific Alliance was held, a meeting that was headed by the president of Colombia, Iván Duque, who was accompanied by the presidents of Chile, Sebastián Piñera; of Peru, Pedro Castillo, and the Secretary of the Treasury of Mexico, Rogelio Ramírez de la O.

During the Summit, the presidents signed the Buenaventura Declaration that expresses their “willingness to continue working together to reduce the socioeconomic impacts caused by the health emergency, and promote an inclusive and sustainable economic recovery that offers new opportunities for our citizens.” .

What is?

The Pacific Alliance is made up of Chile, Colombia, Mexico, and Peru, and is a mechanism for economic and commercial integration, based on four pillars: free movement of goods, services, capital and people and a transversal axis of cooperation. It is an innovative and flexible integration strategy, with clear, pragmatic goals that are consistent with the development model and Colombian foreign policy. This mechanism does not seek to counterbalance other regional initiatives.

The Pacific Alliance (PA) was established in April 2011 by Chile, Colombia, Mexico, and Peru, through the Macro Agreement, which entered into force in July 2015, and its commercial protocol, which entered into force on May 1, 2016.

What are your goals?

Build, in a participatory and consensual manner, an area of ​​deep integration to progressively move towards the free circulation of goods, services, capital and people;

Promote greater growth, development and competitiveness of the economies of the Parties, with a view to achieving greater well-being, overcoming socioeconomic inequality and the social inclusion of its inhabitants; Y

Become a platform for political articulation, economic and commercial integration, and projection to the world, with special emphasis on Asia Pacific.

The Oaxaca Post