While Mexico FGR investigates Julia Tagüeña, the scientist is internationally recognized with the TWAS 2021 Award


The award is given thanks to the significant contribution to the advancement of science

The Mexican scientist Julia Tagüeña Parga is recognized with the Twas 2021 Prize, this award, given by the World Academy of Sciences, an autonomous and international organization, which -since 1985- recognizes the most recognized scholars, thanks to significant contributions to the advancement of science. The delivery of said award coincides with the accusations brought against 31 scientists, members of the Scientific and Technological Consultative Forum (FCCyT) by the FGR and Conacyt, of which the doctor of science is a part.

To award the TWAS 2021 Prize for the Popularization and Understanding of Science, awarded annually, the Academy evaluates a body of more than 2,000 female and male scientists from more than 100 regions around the world. This body also offers grants, scholarships, peer review, and recognition for research, through funding from UNESCO, which, since 1991, assumed responsibility for TWAS funds, as well as monitoring the center’s staff. 

Notably, Tagüeña Parga, dedicated to research in physics of the solid state and science communication since the beginning of his intellectual life, presided multiple counts of scientific impact, to the serving as CEO of Popularization of Science of UNAM between 2004 and 2008. She was also director of the UNAM Energy Research Center, from November 2012 to January 2013; as well as she held the position of Deputy Director of Scientific Development of the National Council of Science and Technology from April 2013 to November 2018.

At present, it belongs to the National System of Researchers (SNI), Level III. From January 2019 to December 31, 2020, Dr. Tagüeña assumed the position as general coordinator of the FCCyT, at which time an initiative was presented to reform the Science Law, in the search to suspend the calls, in terms of research, that could affect Conacyt’s budgetary resources, a decision with which the Consultative Forum did not agree.

As a result of this decision, the changes made within the internal regulations of the National Council implied the disappearance of the FCCyT, as an autonomous body, and also led to the creation of a new Forum. In this context, the 31 members of the former Consultative Forum have been accused of four different crimes, of which an investigation folder has already been opened. To date, seven of the former officials have testified before the FGR

Mientras la FGR investiga a Julia Tagüeña, la científica es reconocida  internacionalmente con el Premio TWAS 2021 Córdoba al día

Regarding TWAS and the scholars that make it up, some of the Mexican scientists that are part of TWAS, according to the official website of the Academy, are the astronomer María Aurora Armienta (recently integrated during 2021); the specialist in earth sciences Gustavo Bruzal (as of 2018); Susana Lizano, astronomer, (2018); Arturo Menchaca Rocha (2016); María Ester Brandan (active member since 2011); the mathematician Raymundo Bautista Ramos (since 2009): the expert in molecular biology Esther Orozco (2009); Octavio Paredez López, student of agricultural sciences (2005).

Source: eluniversal.com.mx

Mexico Daily Post