Do you know the real names of the capitals of each state in Mexico?


Victoria de Durango, Santiago de Querétaro or San Francisco de Campeche. Do you really know the names of the capitals of Mexico?

Mexico is territorially organized by 32 federative entities (31 states and Mexico City, the capital of the republic). In turn, the states are divided into municipalities or mayors, which are in charge of providing public services to the population. The states have their own capitals, with the exception of Mexico City.

In urban planning, the capital or head of the city is called the place where the central government, the members and all the supreme organs of the State reside. Depending on the country, capitals can exist at different levels or hierarchies. As for the case of Mexico, there are capitals both at the federal and state levels.


Mexico’s capital

Throughout its history, Mexico City has served as the capital of the Mexican Republic. However, for a brief period, the City of Veracruz served as the capital of the liberal government of Benito Juárez. When the conservative government of Félix María de Zuloaga fell in 1861, the capital returned to Mexico City, remaining until today.

It should be noted that in 2016 the Mexican capital officially changed its name from the Federal District to Mexico City. The latter was due to a reform that granted autonomy concerning its internal regime and its political and administrative organization.

Here are the names of the states with their respective capitals

  • Aguascalientes – Aguascalientes.
  • Baja California – Mexicali.
  • Baja California Sur – La Paz.
  • Campeche – San Francisco de Campeche or Campeche.
  • Chiapas – Tuxtla Gutiérrez.
  • Chihuahua – Chihuahua.
  • Mexico City.-CDMX.
  • Coahuila de Zaragoza – Saltillo.
  • Colima – Colima.
  • Durango – Victoria de Durango or Durango.
  • State of Mexico – Toluca de Lerdo.
  • Guanajuato – Guanajuato.
  • Guerrero – Chilpancingo de Bravo.
  • Hidalgo – Pachuca de Soto.
  • Jalisco – Guadalajara.
  • Michoacán de Ocampo – Morelia.
  • Morelos – Cuernavaca.
  • Nayarit – Tepic.
  • Nuevo Leon – Monterrey.
  • Oaxaca – Oaxaca de Juárez.
  • Puebla – Puebla de Zaragoza.
  • Querétaro – Santiago de Querétaro.
  • Quintana Roo – Chetumal.
  • San Luis Potosí – San Luis Potosí.
  • Sinaloa – Culiacán Rosales.
  • Sonora – Hermosillo.
  • Tabasco – Villahermosa.
  • Tamaulipas – Ciudad Victoria.
  • Tlaxcala – Tlaxcala de Xicohténcatl.
  • Veracruz de Ignacio de la Llave – Xalapa-Enríquez.
  • Yucatán – Mérida.
  • Zacatecas – Zacatecas.

Mexico Daily Post