Latest COVID-19 rules for US travelers in October


While more and more destinations are opening up to Americans, traveling domestically could still prove challenging for some Americans visiting select states this fall as several are still requiring out-of-state visitors to quarantine for at least 14 days or present a negative COVID-19 test result in some cases. Here’s the latest information for travelers to keep in mind when making plans this October.


Out-of-state visitors to Alaska will need to be tested for COVID-19 within 72 hours of departure and upload the negative result into the Alaska Travel Portal. Testing is also available for $250 on arrival, however, those awaiting results must quarantine in the meantime. Any non-resident spending more than a week in Alaska is advised to undergo a second test 7-14 days after arrival.


Connecticut requires visitors from areas with a high rate of infection (higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a seven-day rolling average) to self-isolate for at least 14 days upon their arrival. As of September 29, the list includes 32 states and Puerto Rico and Guam. Travelers from impacted states and territories can shorten or avoid quarantine by providing a negative PCR test result to Connecticut’s Commissioner of Public Health.


After several delays, Hawaii plans to roll out its pre-travel testing program on October 15 that would allow visitors to bypass the 14-day quarantine period with proof of a negative COVID-19 test result taken within 72 hours of their arrival. Travelers will also be required to pass an airport temperature screening and fill out a travel and health declaration form.


While travelers don’t face any statewide restrictions in Idaho, visitors to Ada County, including places like Boise, Meridian, Eagle, Garden City, Star and Kuna are encouraged to self-quarantine for 14 days if they are traveling from an area with substantial community spread or case rates higher than Idaho.


Similarly to Idaho, Illinois has not imposed any statewide restrictions on travel. However, travelers visiting Chicago from 22 states and Puerto Rico are required to quarantine for at least two weeks. As of October 1, affected states include Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

Click here to read original article on Travel Pulse

Mexico Daily Post